7. Formulas and ratios
Start with Concept to understand a topic, then use Question Bank to check what you know.
Your progress
Sign in to see your mastery and mistakes.
7.1. Marketing
7.1.1
• Market share = Sales revenue of a business / Total sales revenue for the whole market × 100 = %.
7.2. Production
• Labour productivity = Output per period (units) / Number of employees = units per employee.
• Total variable cost = Variable cost per unit × number of units.
• Variable cost per unit = Total variable cost / Number of units.
• Total cost = Total fixed costs + total variable costs.
• Average cost = Total cost / Number of units.
• Break-even output = Fixed costs / Contribution per unit.
• Contribution per unit = Selling price per unit - variable cost per unit.
• Margin of safety = Actual number of sales - break-even number of sales.
7.3. Business finance
• Revenue = Selling price per unit × number of units sold.
• Gross profit = Revenue - cost of sales.
• Profit = Total revenue - total costs, or gross profit - expenses.
• Working capital = Current assets - current liabilities.
• Profit margin = Profit / Revenue × 100 = %.
• Gross profit margin = Gross profit / Revenue × 100 = %.
• ROCE = Profit / Capital employed × 100 = %.
7.4. Liquidity ratios
• Current ratio = Current assets : current liabilities, or current assets / current liabilities. Answer can be presented as a ratio : 1 or as a number.
• Acid test ratio = Current assets - inventory : current liabilities, or (current assets - inventory) / current liabilities. Answer can be presented as a ratio : 1 or as a number.