7. Formulas and ratios

Start with Concept to understand a topic, then use Question Bank to check what you know.

4 topics · 18 learning objectives

Your progress

Sign in to see your mastery and mistakes.

  1. 7.1. Marketing

    1. 7.1.1

      • Market share = Sales revenue of a business / Total sales revenue for the whole market × 100 = %.

  2. 7.2. Production

    1. • Labour productivity = Output per period (units) / Number of employees = units per employee.

    2. • Total variable cost = Variable cost per unit × number of units.

    3. • Variable cost per unit = Total variable cost / Number of units.

    4. • Total cost = Total fixed costs + total variable costs.

    5. • Average cost = Total cost / Number of units.

    6. • Break-even output = Fixed costs / Contribution per unit.

    7. • Contribution per unit = Selling price per unit - variable cost per unit.

    8. • Margin of safety = Actual number of sales - break-even number of sales.

  3. 7.3. Business finance

    1. • Revenue = Selling price per unit × number of units sold.

    2. • Gross profit = Revenue - cost of sales.

    3. • Profit = Total revenue - total costs, or gross profit - expenses.

    4. • Working capital = Current assets - current liabilities.

    5. • Profit margin = Profit / Revenue × 100 = %.

    6. • Gross profit margin = Gross profit / Revenue × 100 = %.

    7. • ROCE = Profit / Capital employed × 100 = %.

  4. 7.4. Liquidity ratios

    1. • Current ratio = Current assets : current liabilities, or current assets / current liabilities. Answer can be presented as a ratio : 1 or as a number.

    2. • Acid test ratio = Current assets - inventory : current liabilities, or (current assets - inventory) / current liabilities. Answer can be presented as a ratio : 1 or as a number.